Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Representative Jeff Denham

Representing the 10th District of California

Denham Announces 2014 Military Service Academy Nominees

Dec 10, 2014
Press Release

Rep. Denham calls students to personally congratulate them on their nominations.

WASHINGTON — U.S. Representative Jeff Denham (R-Turlock) today announced the 2014 service academy nominees from California’s 10th district. Rep. Denham nominated 16 students from cities across the district to three of the country’s prestigious military academies.

“The Valley is home to so many talented young people,” said Rep. Denham. “Each of these individuals has demonstrated an admirable desire to learn and to serve our nation, and their contributions to their communities deserve recognition. I look forward to seeing each of them succeed far into the future.”

Students were nominated to the United States Military Academy in West Point, N.Y., the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md. and the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Each student seeking to attend one of the military academies must be nominated by a U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator or the Vice President. The U.S. Coast Guard Academy does not require a nomination to attend. Nominees are selected through a rigorous application and interview process and are chosen based on factors such as academic achievement, leadership ability, physical aptitude, participation in extra-curricular activities and demonstration of character.

Academy students commit to serving in the military for a minimum of five years active duty upon graduation. If accepted to attend, students will receive notice from the individual service academies in April 2015.

For more information about the military academy nomination process, please visit

The full list of this year’s nominees is below.

Bryce Lew – Manteca – U.S. Naval Academy
Ga’Lhiel Dillard – Modesto – U.S. Military Academy
Tanner Goudeau – Modesto – U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
Brent Sordo – Modesto – U.S. Air Force Academy
Logan Eaton – Oakdale – U.S. Naval Academy
Jose Martinez – Patterson – U.S. Military Academy
Brooke Sanpei – Patterson – U.S. Air Force Academy
Nathaniel Gagnon – Ripon – U.S. Military Academy
Justin Armijo – Ripon – U.S. Military Academy
Michael Brown – Tracy – U.S. Military Academy
Anthony Cabri – Tracy – U.S. Air Force Academy
Kyle Hewitt – Tracy – U.S. Naval Academy
Maria Martinez – Turlock – U.S. Air Force Academy
John Moody III – Turlock – U.S. Air Force Academy
Joseph Johnson – Waterford – U.S. Air Force Academy
Ellis Valdez – Waterford – U.S. Military Academy