Home / news / Press Releases

Republican Members of Congress Sign Discharge Petition to Force DACA Vote

f t # e
Washington, May 9, 2018 | comments
WASHINGTON Today, a group of Republican lawmakers introduced a discharge petition to force a series of floor votes on four DACA, immigration and border security bills. If the petition, led by Rep. Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), receives 218 signatures, it will force a vote on H. Res. 774 that Rep. Jeff Denham (CA-10) introduced in March, to allow Members to debate the issue on the House floor under the “queen of the hill” rule. According to the rule, whichever proposal receives the most votes and meets the mandatory majority-vote threshold would be adopted.

“Since arriving in Congress, one of my top priorities has been to forge a compromise on immigration that delivers a fair, permanent solution for young immigrants brought to our country as children, while securing the border and strengthening our immigration laws,” Curbelo said. “Since the President's call for Congressional action on DACA and other immigration policies in September of last year, the House has done nothing. Congress should be motivated by courage – not inhibited by cowardice – in the pursuit of the legislative solutions the American people expect. Our proposal does not attempt to impose any specific bill, instead it empowers all Members of the House, including the Speaker, to craft a solution that can win majority support and be signed into law. For over 12 years, Members of both parties have used the immigration issue for petty partisan pursuits, dividing the American public and leaving many immigrants in fear. This time, let's have a debate and produce a compromise that brings Americans together – those who want to strengthen border security and enforce our immigration laws and those who believe we should welcome the young immigrants who arrived in our country as children, grew up here, and are already contributing to the greatness of America.”

“Congress must do its job and have the debate we have avoided for years,” said Denham. “My rule is about coming together in a bipartisan manner to find a compromise on a permanent solution for America’s Dreamers and responsible border security.”

“We have an opportunity to finally gain operational control of our border and provide a permanent legislative fix for people who came to this country through no fault of their own,” said Hurd, who represents more U.S.-Mexico border than any other Member of Congress. “We cannot avoid action any longer and this is an important issue that the American people want debated on the house floor.”

Signatories of the Discharge Petition include: Reps. Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Jeff Denham (CA-10), Will Hurd (TX-23), David G. Valadao (CA-21), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), Mia B. Love (UT-4), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27), Charles W. Dent (PA-15), Fred Upton, (MI-6), David G. Reichert (WA-8), Mike Coffman (CO-6), Chris Collins (NY-27), John J. Faso (NY-19), Mark E. Amodei (NV-2), and Elise M. Stefanik (NY-21).

Signatories are updated in real-time here.

Several of the signatories participated in a press conference earlier today. Video is available on Denham’s Facebook page here.

f t # e